The 'See all staff' checkbox under 'View', when selected, ensures that all of your employees are displayed in the scheduler.
This can be useful when you are creating schedules for many employees.
It is just used as a visual aide.
You cannot add shifts while the see all staff checkbox is selected.
If you try to add shifts you will see this message: